Eyelet Rib Legwarmers

Worsted weight superwash merino

US8 needles – 5mm (circular or DPN for preferred method of knitting in the round)

Sizing: These legwarmers fit my 8.5” ankle/13” calf, but the ribbing pulls in a lot and would fit smaller legs.  If you add a full repeat, you will add about 4.5” at the widest point (when stretched. again, the ribbing pulls in a lot and will fit smaller)  You can also fiddle with the ribbing in between the eyelet sections to get the size you need.  If you knit this, I would love feedback.

M1: I used the nearly invisible increase found here: http://techknitting.blogspot.com/2007/05/very-nearly-invisible-increase.html

When it came to increasing in the purl section, I used the same method, but purled the stitch instead of knitting it. (I looked at the back of the work to find the stitch I needed to place on the left needle)

CO  42 and join to begin working in the round

Lace pattern over 4 rounds

Rounds 1-3: [K5, p3, k3, p3] 3 times

Round 4: [K2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, p3, k3, p3] 3 times

Repeat these 4 rounds until the legwarmer measures 9 inches from cast on edge

Increase round: [k5, p3, k1, m1, k2, p3] 3 times

[k5, p3, k4, p3] 3 times

[k5, p3, k4, p3] 3 times

[k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, p3, k4, p3] 3 times

Rounds 1-3: [K5, p3, k4, p3] 3 times

Round 4: [K2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, p3, k4, p3] 3 times

Repeat these 4 rounds for another 2 inches

Increase round: [k5, p3, k1, m1, k3, p3] 3 times

[k5, p3, k5, p3] 3 times

[k5, p3, k5, p3] 3 times

[k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, p3, k5, p3] 3 times

Rounds 1-3: [K5, p3, k5, p3] 3 times

Round 4: [K2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, p3, k5, p3] 3 times

Repeat these 4 rounds for another 2 ½ inches

Increase round: [k5, p3, k5, p1, m1, p2]  3 times

[k5, p3, k5, p4] 3 times

[k5, p3, k5, p4] 3 tmes

[k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, p3, k5, p4]

Rounds 1-3: [K5, p3, k3, p4] 3 times

Round 4: [K2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, p3, k3, p4] 3 times

Repeat these 4 rounds to 18” or desired length (from cast on edge). End with 3 rounds of [k5, p3, k5, p4]

Finish using sewn bind off (see link below) and weaving in ends.

http://www.knittingdaily.com/blogs/howto/archive/2008/05/15/sewn-bind-off.aspx

April 9, 2010. Tags: , , , . Knitting, patterns.

9 Comments

  1. Carolknits replied:

    Thank you for such a nice pattern! I have a question-right at the beginning of the pattern you have rounds 1-3, then round 4 for the lace pattern. You then say, “Repeat these 3 rounds.” I believe you mean repeat these 4 rounds, right?
    Thanks!

    • lilliputianstitches replied:

      Yes, you’re correct, it should read “repeat these 4 rounds” Thanks for the correction!

  2. Knotty Knitter replied:

    I have made thre pairs of these ribbed leg warmers in the past week . . . 2 in 100% wool and 1 in alpaca/wool blend. The patern is great and fits customers well. One question??? What do you mean by a “sewn cast off” It is a new phrase to me which I cannot find in any of my extensive knitting references or from other experiencd knitters.

    THANKS AGAIN FOR THE GREAT PATTERN.

  3. Chels replied:

    Hi there,
    Was wondering how many grams/yards this pattern requires.
    Thanks!

  4. margaret replied:

    Hi- I’m looking at patterns to make my daughter legwarmers- these look nice. I know gauge isn’t critical for leg warmers- but it helps me think! Do you have a gauge… i don’t see one noted.
    and I like the post from the person who made three sets in a week- makes me think I should be able to finish one by Christmas!

    • lilliputianstitches replied:

      My gauge was 5 stitches per inch. (I’m so sorry about the delay in replying – I hope you can still get them done by Christmas!)

  5. Jessica replied:

    I made these leg warmers for my twin nieces and they LOVED them! Since they are 6 and their legs are so thin, I didn’t add any increases. I just continued the same pattern in your initial rounds 1-4. The stretchiness allowed them the have plenty of give without needing the increases in the pattern. Thanks so much!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

