Mitered Diamond Dishcloth

I’ve recently become a dishcloth convert.  I got sick of the stinky sponges that I was constantly throwing out and replacing (I absolutely despise that smell on my hands when I pick up a sponge I didn’t realize was yucky already!)  It is so much easier to squeeze out the water from a dishcloth and when hung over the faucet it dries out nicely wth no stink!

I’ve been going through the dishcloth patterns on Ravelry and making the ones that catch my fancy, but then thought that it would be more interesting for me to play with my own designs.  Here is my first foray into dishcloth design. It is a mitered square worked from the center out with a diamond lace motif in two of the sections.  I’m not sure what size I’m going to like for dishcloths, so I’m experimenting with different sizes. I think this is a bit big, but we’ll see – I’m sure it will come in handy for something in the kitchen :)

needle: size US5 circular or double pointed needles
yarn: Lily Sugar’n Cream (worsted weight cotton)
gauge: 18sts/4in
size: 12″ square

CO 8 stitches – join to work in the round and knit all stitches

I used magic loop, half the stitches on one needle, half on the second.  Mark the beginning of round and center of round so that when there are too many stitches on the needle to continue magic loop it is easy to see where the repeat starts/ends.  On the odd rounds 9 – 35, the written instructions are for one half of the washcloth, the entire line will be repeated once after the center of round marker.

**I’ve had several inquiries about a possible mistake in the pattern – getting wrong stitch count in the beginning – It’s been so long since I knit this that I can’t double check without reknitting it…will get to it as soon as I can, sorry for not keeping up with this** 2/9/14

Round 1 – [yo, k1] 8 times
Round 2 (and all even rounds) – knit
Round 3 – k1, [yo, k1, yo, k3] 3 times, yo, k1, k2
Round 5 – k2, [yo, k1, yo, k5] 3 times, yo, k1, k3 (32sts)
Round 7 – k3, [yo, k1, yo, k7] 3 times, yo, k1, k4 (40 sts)
Round 9 – *k4, yo, k1, yo, k2, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k2, yo, k1, yo, k5 (repeat from *) (48 sts)
Round 11 – *k5, yo, k1, yo, k2, k2tog, yo, k3, yo, ssk, k2, yo, k1, yo, k6 (repeat from *) (56 sts)
Round 13 – *k6, yo, k1, yo, k2, [k2tog, yo]twice, k1, [yo, ssk]twice, k2, yo, k1, yo, k7 (repeat from *) (64 sts)
Round 15 – *k7, yo, k1, yo, k2, [k2tog, yo]twice, k3, [yo, ssk]twice, k2, yo, k1, yo, k8 (repeat from *) (72 sts)
Round 17 – *k8, yo, k1, yo, k2, [k2tog, yo]3 times, k1, [yo, ssk]3 times, k2, yo, k1, yo, k9 (repeat from *) (80 sts)
Round 19 – *k9, yo, k1, yo, k2, [k2tog, yo]3 times, k3, [yo, ssk]3 times, k2, yo, k1, yo, k10 (repeat from *) (88 sts)
Round 21 – *k10, yo, k1, yo, k2, [k2tog, yo]3 times, k5, [yo, ssk]3 times, k2, yo, k1, yo, k11 (repeat fom *) (96 sts)
Round 23 – *k11, yo, k1, yo, k4, [yo, ssk]3 times, k3, [k2tog, yo]3 times, k4, yo, k1, yo, k12 (rep from *) (104 sts)
Round 25 – *k12, yo, k1, yo, k6, [yo, ssk]3 times, k1, [k2tog, yo]3 times, k6, yo, k1, yo, k13 (rep from *) (112 sts)
Round 27 – *k13, yo, k1, yo, k8 [yo, ssk]twice, yo, (sl, k2tog, psso), yo, [k2tog, yo]twice, k8, yo, k1, yo, k14 (rep from *) (120 sts)
Round 29 – *k14, yo, k1, yo, k10, [yo, ssk]twice, k1, [k2tog, yo]twice, k10, yo, k1, yo, k15 (rep from *) (128 sts)
Round 31 – *k15, yo, k1, yo, k12, yo, ssk, yo, (sl, k2tog, psso), yo, k2tog, yo, k12, yo, k1, yo, k16 (rep from *) (136 sts)
Round 33 – *k16, yo, k1, yo, k14, yo, ssk, k1, k2tog, yo, k14, yo, k1, yo, k17 (rep from *) (144 sts)
Round 35 – *k17, yo, k1, yo, k16, yo, (sl, k2tog, psso), yo, k16, yo, k1, yo, k18 (rep from *) (152 sts)
Round 37 – k18, [yo, k1, yo, k37]3 times, yo, k1, yo, k19 (160 sts)
Round 39 – k19, [yo, k1, yo, k39]3 times, yo, k1,yo, k20 (168 sts)
Round 40 – purl
Round 41 – k20, [yo, k1, yo, k41] 3 times, yo, k1, k21 (176 sts)
Round 42 – purl
Round 43 – k21, [yo, k1, yo, k43] 3 tmes, yo, k1, k22

Bind off purlwise

Weave in ends and block.

November 17, 2010. Tags: , , , , . Knitting, patterns.

4 Comments

  1. Deb Richardson replied:

    Thanks for sharing. Knit dishcloths are the best. My husband, yes he does dishes, always grabs a knit one over a store bought. After my Christmas knitting is done this will be my next project.

  2. Deb Richardson replied:

    One more comment. I’ve never been too successful with magic loop, do you think this pattern could be done with 2 circs?

    • lilliputianstitches replied:

      Absolutely. The stitches are arranged the same way with both methods, so 2 circs would work. I think DPNs would be perfectly fine as well, but I never use them so I don’t have any tips on how to distribute the stitches.

  3. Knitmouse replied:

    I am a dishcloth knitting fan, too. These can also get that yukky smell, though. To avoid the sour stench, you need to rinse in cold water before wringing out and hanging up. This works for sponges, washcloths and other stinky wet things.

    Thanks for the pattern.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

