Innovation

Well, the second month of Project Yarnway is underway.  March’s challenge is to use a material not sold for the purpose of knitting.  Hmmm…this certainly is going to be a challenge.

I had to take a trip to the hardware store anyway, so I looked around for something I could knit with.  I found this lovely sisal twine….it’s very rough, but it’s so natural and beautiful.  I’ve started a vase out of it.  I had originally planned to make some sort of curtain panel or canopy for my daughter’s room, but this stuff is just too stiff, I can’t get a fabric that will drape at all.  I hope the vase will work – it seems stiff enough that it will stand up on its own, and I think it will look really pretty with a bright and colorful bouquet of flowers placed in it (of course I’ll need to have a glass vase inside since my vase won’t be watertight)

March 6, 2010. Tags: , . Knitting, Project Yarnway.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

