Marled Yarn

I’m frugal, thrifty, and penny-pinching. Whichever word you want to use, that’s me – I don’t like to spend money if I don’t have to.  In that vein, I’m no stranger to unraveling thrift store sweaters, and I’ve gotten some great yarn from $5 x-large sweaters.  My latest obsession is using the yarn from more than one sweater to create a marled yarn.  It adds so much depth to the finished item, and you can play with color and contrast as much, or as little, as you like.

This is a lap blanket (the beautiful Hemlock Ring) I am making from 2 cotton sweaters – one mint green, and the other chocolate brown.  I love how the colors contrast.

In this shrug I used much less contrast – an off white and a beige.  This gives a much more subtle effect.

I wind each color into a separate center pull ball and hold the strands together, lightly twisting as I knit.  I find gauge a bit unpredictable, so swatching is important.  Even if fit is not a concern, I’ll usually try the stitch pattern with a couple different needle sizes to make sure I get a fabric I love.

Here are two great tutorials for reclaiming yarn from thrift store sweaters:

dawnprickett.blogspot.com
neauveau.com

If you’re not an unraveller, no worries…this technique can be used with new yarn too 🙂

November 24, 2010. Tags: , , . Knitting.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

